2017 Award Winners

Congratulations to the following students:

Citizenship Cup:  Awarded to a person in Year 8 who has been an excellent 'citizen' at Whangarei Heads School.  This student goes out of their way to do things for the school, are community minded and are an excellent and positive role model.                 Winner:  Eloise Mitchell

Ambassador's Trophy:  Awarded to a Year 7 or 8 student who has represented the school well at an event, or events, outside of school.  This person has shown maturity and capability.  WinnerStar Rose

Sportsmanship Award:  Awarded to the student who has consistently demonstrated that win or lose, Sportsmansip, in its very essence, is respect - respect for others and one's self.  Sportsmanship encompasses all that which is good in human nature.               WinnerElliott Croasdale

Enviro Award:  Awarded to the person who has shown initiative, care and responsibility for the environment.    Winner:   Cole Anderson

Super Nova Award:  Awarded to a senior student who has shown 'rising star' qualities.  The recipient has shown fairness, resilience, and a strong collaborative approach to all learning.   Winner:  Tai Martin

Mana Trophy:  Awarded to a senior student who has been a cultural leader in the school; someone who has earned mana from the school and his/her peers.        Winners:  Maya Porter and Seabren Struijcken

Music Trophy:  Awarded to a senior student (Years 6-8) who has demonstrated leadership in music.  Winner:  Seabren Struijcken

Excellence Certificates:  To acknowledge students who have excelled in their special talent.

Surfing: Placed second in the National Scholastic Surfing Championships:               Cooper Ashill

Football:  Train with the 12th Grade Talent Centre squad for Whangarei and were selected at the age of ten for the Under 12 Girls team, representing Northland in the Weir Rose Tournament in Cambridge.   Faith Allen and Bethany Maltby.

Pony Club  Recently qualified to represent Whangarei as a member of the Whangarei Pony Club show jumping team and will be competing in the New Zealand Pony Club Championships in February.  Elsa Buckley